git review -2022: My 2022 wrap up as a Software Engineer

git review -2022: My 2022 wrap up as a Software Engineer

It's been an eventful year for me as a software engineer in 2022. I started off the year by cracking a few job offers and ultimately landed an internship at Argoid as a backend software engineer. This opportunity allowed me to gain valuable industry experience and develop my skills further.

One of the highlights of my year was winning the 3rd Rank at the 'HackMerced' international hackathon. It was an amazing experience to not only participate in a hackathon but to also come out on top. I mean, what's more exciting than staying up all night coding and drinking Red Bull? I also had the opportunity to participate as a mentor and judge in a few other hackathons, which was a great way to give back to the community and help other aspiring engineers.

In May, I graduated from Ahmedabad University. That was a real treat, a piece of paper that confirms nothing eventually 🥲. Shortly after, our team launched a product on the Shopify marketplace. I was responsible for building the product's backend from scratch and it was a great learning experience. This project not only allowed me to improve my backend engineering skills but also to learn new technologies and frameworks. I was also awarded as a "bright beginner" in my company, which was a great recognition for my hard work and dedication. I was later converted to a full-time employee at Argoid, which was a huge milestone for me (PS: Because who doesn't love being in debt and working long hours? 😬).

Later in July, I moved to Bengaluru to work with my team and it was an incredible experience. I met a lot of talented and passionate software engineers and learned a lot from them. It helped me grow both professionally and personally.

In addition to my full-time job, I also made a conscious effort to improve my DSA (thanks to Striver) and started contributing to open-source projects (Big ups to Kunal Kushwaha, Eddie Jaoude & community). It was a challenging but rewarding experience.

As I look back on the past year, I'm proud of the progress I've made and the opportunities I've had. I've planned a lot of new stuff for 2023. I am determined to continue learning and growing as a software engineer and am excited to see what the future holds. (Said with a hint of sarcasm, of course)

More about me: https://harshmange.netlify.app

Let's connect on GitHub and LinkedIn !!

Happy Coding 2023 :)

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Harsh Mange by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!